The Tijuana Zonkeys, not just a Streetside Attraction

A couple months ago, I was at the Lakers’ historic defeat against the Clippers, the mood was off, the fans we silent, and the tickets super expensive. So when I was invited to the Tijuana Zonkeys game I was a little apprehensive. I still went and am glad I did so.

The Tijuana Zonkeys, fighting the win against the Hermosillo Rayos
The Tijuana Zonkeys, fighting the win against the Hermosillo Rayos

When many hear of zonkeys, they think of the zebra stripped donkeys on Tijuana’s avenida Revolucion. I am not talking about those! I went to the Tijuana Zonkeys vs. Hermosillo Rayos game two weeks ago. It was a great game! The entire game, the team was tied (until Hermosillo won in overtime) and the team was scoring great 3-pointers. The crowd was as into the game as any game in the US. It was great.

Game time
Game time

Something I haven’t mentioned yet are the reasonably cheap tickets. General admission is $100 pesos ($8), VIP is $300 pesos ($24 USD). You would think they would sell the beer more expensive, but it was still only $25 pesos ($2 dollars). So, if you’re looking for a fun, cheap guy or girl’s night out…. Think Tijuana Zonkeys!

The team has their own cheerleaders!
The team has their own cheerleaders!

The whole game was a blast and I will definitely go back and support the Tijuana Zonkeys because, and I truly mean this, I had a lot more fun at this game than at the Lakers’ game.

Friendly handshake at the end of the game.
Friendly handshake at the end of the game.

So next, time you don’t know what to do, catch a game at the Auditorio Municipal by the Galerias Mall. Here is a calendar of their games.

 

For more ideas on what to see in Baja California follow us on Instagram @bajaisyours  (there’s also a cool video of a Zonkey shot from the game I went to!)

 

Leave a Reply

